Skip to content

I’d like a double with a twist.

July 14, 2009

Hi. I’m Felicia, and I’m a food blogger in a part of the U.S. where there’s a farmers market every day, and where I’m less than 50 miles from oyster farms, apple orchards, vineyards, strawberry fields, and almost every cuisine the world has to offer.

Welcome to a place where the cup runneth over. Oh, California. You spoil me.  Life is sweet.

Not actually a California picture.  But hey!  Honey!  Sweet!  Yay!  Waiheke Island, NZ, May 2009

Since I’m essentially starting this puppy over, a little back story might be in order.

I’ve been a writer since I was small (I still treasure my silly little Knights of Columbus essay contest plaque won in a “heated” competition in the 8th grade) and I’ve been blogging, in a more general fashion, for almost a decade. The food focus began when the recipes and market pictures started taking over my “regular” blog. I began filtering those posts into a more public place, with the initial intent to make it an easier way to share recipes and ideas with my family.

Just my family.

The Internet had other ideas (like it generally does). I got a little press. I got a lot of readers. The camera got an upgrade and I ended up moving the blog to a new location to better accommodate the flow of people.

And oh, the people. Y’all do a foodie girl’s heart good. Just my family? Silly moi.

Words and pictures. That’s all it was. Or was it?

The people who came to dip their toes in it were some really fun folk. Building community around good, no, superb food, is oh so natural. Together, we had a virtual table and we were all passing the plate.

The best part was watching the online life filter into the offline life. I loved meeting readers at the market – the camera always gave me away – and that visibility helped me to really get to know the people behind my food. Lili and Joe and Marco and Sally…too many to name. They’d always suggest this new herb or that new fruit – that’s heaven to a gastronerd, especially one who itches to write and share.

But at the end of summer 2008, I put the brakes on about four years of weekly updates, recipes, and market visits. My godmother had been diagnosed with terminal brain cancer. My marriage was fraying before my eyes. And I was getting increasingly tired and sad. Maybe later, I’d thought. There was never any question in my mind that things would change, and I would dive back in.  But I did need to step back a bit and reevaluate.

Eventually, everything did change, but in entirely unexpected ways that took me through a mourning process and a divorce. Both events redefined my priorities and forced me to take some time to shuffle the deck, as it were.

I got a new hand of cards. And lucky me, I got a full house.

I renamed the blog “More, please…” because that perfectly sums up how I feel about the direction my life has taken. And happily, it fits with food, too. Mostly, it’s a phrase that gets uttered in those pleasurable and happy moments when I can’t help but ask for more because I had no idea it could actually be this good.

Yes, there will be pictures, and markets, and recipes, and food, but never without joy.

More, please…

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 6:27 PM

    Go for it, Felicia.

    • feliciaelena permalink
      July 15, 2009 5:28 AM

      Thanks, lady. 🙂 I don’t think I’ll be able to do the daily work you do, but I am eager to get my writing honed up.

  2. Mom permalink
    July 15, 2009 7:47 AM

    Love that you are on to this again. Yes, it’s been a ride getting here but all of life is, isn’t it? Keep at it. It gives us all great joy!

Leave a Reply

