Skip to content

Kiwis lay the best eggs and my pompous sauce syndrome

July 24, 2009

Day four recap
Halo Cafe, Queenstown, South Island, New Zealand, May 2009

Every egg we had in New Zealand had a yolk like this – glaringly orange and nearly waxy in its richness.  All I did to the picture above was press the shutter button, after which I put the camera away and ate with all the grace of a happy frog who’d snagged a big, juicy bug.  I did have one teensy little problem with them though.

One night up in Marlborough we stayed in a motor lodge that had kitchens in each room.  And one morning I decided to hit the local grocer, snag eggs, and make us some benedict.  I figured the sauce would be a bit technicolor but if it tasted anything like the yolks we’d had, we’d be golden.

Was it the persnickety stove top?  Was it the butter?  I have made so many batches of hollandaise over my lifetime that I figured I was safe.  I had pompous sauce syndrome.  I tried TWICE to make it in NZ.  And I watched the pot like a hawk the second time.  The sauce done broke.  Both times.  And almost instantly.  Rather than waste another set of eggs, I decided to cut my losses and settle for less-than-benedict.

I blamed those tasty tasty yolks.  Though everyone else in the country seemed to be able to make hollandaise JUST fine.  In fact, delightfully fine.  We had some variation of it nearly every morning.  But oh, those yummy, crazy Kiwi eggs.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 12:12 PM

    that is a REALLY nice photo. Not just the focus/bokeh but.. them yokes look unnaturally beyond saturated. SO COOL!

    • feliciaelena permalink
      July 27, 2009 12:16 PM

      I know, crazy huh? I remember the first egg I bit into there. And then each one that followed had that same bright orange color. I wanted to know what the heck they were feeding those chickens. 🙂

      Thanks for the compliment. I’m really trying to improve my food photography and this shot is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

