Skip to content

I’m up at 5AM making ice cream

July 30, 2009

EDIT: The recipe is now up and available at the LA Weekly’s food blog, Squid Ink.

DSC_0073

It’s pistachio-rosewater ice cream, and I’ll post the recipe later.  It’s REALLY good.  Made the custard last night and let it chill til morning.  Then woke up at 5AM, grabbed the ice cream maker, and paid a little homage to National Ice Cream Month, which ends Saturday.

Why am I making ice cream at 5AM?  Because when my editor puts out the call, I pull out the heavy cream.  That’s just how I roll.

Now, for a little gentle caffeination.  But oh, what a sweet life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. nita permalink
    August 6, 2009 3:15 PM

    I’m making another batch of raw chocolates. I wish I could mainline this and your ice cream together.

  2. August 10, 2009 11:27 AM

    Wow. You have probs! Then again, i woke up at 7:30 am and churned my ca phe sua da ice cream on Saturday, the day after my wedding.

    • feliciaelena permalink
      August 10, 2009 11:39 AM

      Dude. Boundaries 🙂

      Hehehe

Leave a Reply

