Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving(leftovers)

November 28, 2009

DSC_0883

Gorgeous morning-after-holiday-mayhem today. That AND SJ pulled an old tripod out of the cobwebs and verily I squeed. It’s a beautiful, solid, silvery thing from the 50’s. So I went a little nuts messing with low shutter speeds and F22. I haven’t had a reliable tripod since I started photography. I’ve been stuck at a 1/60 shutter speed for low light/no flash shots to at least try to keep the motion blur at bay. So I had some fun this morning. Fun in that geeky-food-photographer-with-a-vintage-tripod kind of way.

Turkey Breakfast

It’s the morning after the morning after and there’s still a bucket of turkey haunting us in the fridge. Thankfully it’s nice and moist so it reheats like a dream. But I have a feeling this bird is going to find its way into every meal, including second breakfast, afternoon tea, and the after dinner cocktail.

Turkey Breakfast

Low hanging fruit this morning. I scrambled it with some eggs and tarragon.

Turkey Breakfast

Look ma! No flash! Actually it probably could have used one. But I was having too much fun experimenting in the new kitchen. I also have been moving house this week and I’ve been semi-dreading taking shots in the new kitchen. Low low low light and dark shiny granite countertops meant I’d end up using a flash and then having some sort of shiny flashback from the work surface. Not complaining too much – I LOVE the granite. Can’t wait to make some pastry on it.

Turkey Breakfast

Now with action! Because with the tripod I can now take shots while I’m cooking. Yes. I am completely geeking out at this point. And I’m not even using my good lens.

Turkey Breakfast

The eggs go into a pan with some carmelized onion dice and some turkey on a low heat to keep them creamy. I do not like dry scrambled eggs. There’s something perverse about taking something as rich and creamy and versatile as an egg and turning it into edible styrofoam. No. Low heat. Constant attention. A little cream doesn’t hurt either.

Turkey Breakfast

Yeah, it’s not terribly pretty. Maybe especially when I juxtapose it with gorgeous orangey persimmons and lemon yellow pineapple. SJ likes berries. Persimmons and pineapple for me.

Hope you all had a happy holiday. I have more unpacking to do. More later…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. nbukrey permalink
    November 28, 2009 2:37 PM

    Nice photos, my favorite is the second from the top.

    • feliciaelena permalink
      November 28, 2009 7:29 PM

      Thank you!

      Also could you tell me why you like that photo?

  2. nbukrey permalink
    December 2, 2009 8:15 AM

    Didnt see this until looking through my comments.. sorry. Not sure why i like it. It just seems very natural and feels like you are right in the action.

    -Nick

    http://digitography.wordpress.com

Trackbacks

  1. What I’ve been up to… «

Leave a Reply

