Skip to content

Revenge of the Bento

December 14, 2009

Some of you may remember that I used to ‘black box’ it to work every day.  This past year’s frenzy kind of put a wrench in that and I succumbed to the siren song of really bad lunch options (KFC, I’m looking at you).  I recently dug the bento boxes out of hiding and began anew.  I didn’t have time for much prettifying this morning, but we have to start somewhere –

DSC_0550-2

Bottom left corner – Roasted butternut squash. Salt, pepper, olive oil, high heat oven. Voila.
Bottom right – Leftover jambalaya. Recipe from a 1954 copy of the Picayune Creole Cookbook. So good.
Upper section – Fuyu persimmon slices and very lightly pickled cucumber wedges, lil bit of sweet, lil bit of sour

Past bento lunch experiments are at the old blog, but you can still view them here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. entropyhed permalink
    December 14, 2009 9:50 AM

    Yay! I missed the bento posts

  2. sinosoul permalink
    December 14, 2009 10:19 AM

    nice. Purrty persimmon saturation of entire pix. Which begets the q: htf are you gonna work up the jamba while keeping the persimmons cool? ie, are you gonna eat this cold? I can’t stand eating cold food that’s s’pose to be warm.

    • feliciaelena permalink
      December 14, 2009 10:23 AM

      I usually separate my bentos into two sections – hot and cold. I eat the cold part first, which is usually fruits and veggies, and the reheat the warm part that is leftover. Some of my bento boxes have tray inserts that come out, and in those I usually put the hot food so it can be microwaved. I also have a couple of boxes that let me separate into tiers. in which case one tier is reheatable and the other is cold. THis one is all one tray with no inserts, so I end up eating in stages.

      But it’s still better than Carl’s.

  3. December 19, 2009 11:06 AM

    I have also missed the bento posts and am so glad they’re back!

Leave a Reply

